How to Generate Quality Leads with Facebook Lead Ads

In many industries, it is valuable to have a pipeline filled with qualified leads. 

However, it can be difficult to obtain leads, manage them, and keep that pipeline full. 

What if there was a way to produce high-quality leads, have them sent directly to your CRM, and not wipe out your marketing budget in the process? 

Facebook’s lead generation ads check all of these boxes and then some!

In this article, we are going to cover what Facebook lead generation ads are, how to create them, ways to increase lead quality, and show you some tried and tested lead ad examples. 

If your business needs leads to thrive, you’re going to want to keep reading. 

What are you waiting for? We’ll lead the way. 

What Are Facebook Lead Generation Ads?

Facebook’s lead generation ad format allows advertisers to collect information from users in a simple, yet effective way. 

Lead gen advertisements are both uncomplicated for advertisers to manage, and are quick and easy for users to submit their information. 

Using Facebook’s Instant Form, you can collect information such as name, email address, and phone number without requiring them to leave the platform. 

Plus, you can include custom questions to improve lead quality and learn more about these potential customers for personalized follow-up and retargeting.

How does the process work? 

First, a user sees your enticing ad come across while they’re scrolling Facebook. 

Then, they click on your call to action (CTA) button. 

Next, they fill out the information that you’ve requested and answer any of your custom questions. 

What’s great about this ad type is that Facebook auto-fills answers for your potential customers, leaving less for them to fill out and increasing the chances that they’ll complete the form. 

Then, these leads are delivered to you on a silver platter.

The Details

How to Create Facebook Lead Ads

You have the option to create leads ads from either your Facebook Page or from Ads Manager. Here are the steps to create your Facebook lead ad:

  1. Head to your Facebook Ads Manager dashboard and click “Create”.
  2. Select “Lead Generation” as your objective.
  3. Specify your A/B testing and CBO settings.
  4. Specify your audience, placement, budget, and schedule.
  5. Set your ad design (we recommend carousel or video). 
  6. Now that your ad is complete, you will create your instant form. Click “New Form”.
  7. Customize your fields and custom questions for your lead form.
  8. Link your privacy policy and customize your thank you screen.
  9. Sit back and watch the leads roll in!

Lead Gen Ad Placements

Currently, lead ads are in the following placements:

  • Facebook News Feed
  • Facebook Stories
  • Instant Articles
  • In-Stream Videos
  • Marketplace
  • Instagram Feed
  • Instagram Stories

How to Manage Your Leads

To make organizing and maintaining your business’s customer contact information easier, Facebook created what they call “Lead Center.” Within the Lead Center, you can:

  • Manage your leads by setting reminders to follow up, assign an owner to your leads, or add notes to their contact information.
  • Filter your leads by category, owner, label, or date.
  • Create Custom or Lookalike (LAL) audiences based on how you categorize your customers.
  • Send emails directly from the Leads Center.

Before launching the Lead Center, leads were all put into a list that you could export as a CSV and manually upload into your CRM. Now, your leads are automatically sent to your Lead Center with zero transferring on your part.

Do you already have an existing CRM that you use to manage leads? No problem! Facebook still has you covered. Simply follow these steps to connect your CRM system to Facebook. 

Several CRM’s integrate directly with Facebook, while others use a trusted third party called Zapier.

What are the Costs PerFacebook Lead?

Cost per lead (CPL) is calculated as the total amount spent during the life of a campaign, divided by the number of leads generated during that time. 

For example, if you spent $300 on a campaign that generated 10 leads, your average CPL would be $30. 

CPLs can vary significantly depending on the industry, however, Databox found that most advertisers are getting a $0-25 CPL.

*Original graph data from Databox

What Happens Next?

It is one thing to generate leads, it is another to turn those leads into customers. 

There’s no use in forking out your advertising dollars if you don’t have a plan in place to convert your leads. 

Depending on the information they’ve provided and your niche, you need to implement a lead follow-up strategy that works well for you and your customers.

Did you know that 87% of leads go with the company that contacts them within the first 10 seconds? 

For a successful follow-up with Facebook leads, you must have an automatic follow-up process that can act faster than humans. 

This can be done through your CRM, by utilizing automated email marketing or personal follow-up from your internal team, or Facebook’s Lead Center.

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How to Improve the Quality of Your Leads

The main complaint regarding Facebook lead gen is that people receive low-quality leads. 

We believe (and studies prove) that quality is more important than quantity when it comes to leads. 

It doesn’t matter if you get 600 leads if none of them are qualified and aren’t going to make a purchase. 

Luckily, there are a few no-sweat things that you can do to decrease your cost per lead (CPL), improve your lead quality, and increase your conversion rate.

Ask (the right) Questions

To obtain higher-quality leads, customize your forms to ask for the most important information first. 

For example, if you are running lead gen ads for an insurance agency, you may want to ask questions such as: 

  • do you currently have auto insurance? 
  • When do you plan on switching plans? 
  • What is your car’s annual mileage? 

If you’re running ads for real estate, your qualifying questions might be: 

  • When are you looking to purchase a home? 
  • Do you need to sell your home before you buy? 
  • Are you currently working with an agent? 

These straightforward questions allow you to categorize and assign your leads and follow up appropriately. 

The more information you have when you contact your leads, the faster they’ll feel a personal connection with you.

Utilize a Lead Magnet

People love getting free stuff. In fact, they’ll happily give you a sliver of their personal information in exchange for said free stuff. 

In your advertisement, offer something free and of value to these potential customers.

 A captivating graphic teasing at your lead magnet will draw them in and encourage them to quickly fill out your instant form in exchange for this valuable offer. 

From there, you can nurture the lead and help flow them through the customer journey. 

Lead magnets should be instantly accessible, quick to digest, valuable, and industry-specific.

Some examples of lead magnets are eBooks, brochures, webinars, registrations, lists of homes, discounts, PDFs, checklists, printables, and guides.

A great guideline to follow when creating a lead magnet is to make it with enough value for someone to be willing to pay $20 for. 

Videos have proven to be exceptionally effective for grabbing viewers’ attention and encouraging them to click on CTAs. 

If you’re feeling overwhelmed when thinking about capturing, creating, and editing a video to use for your ads, let us take that off your plate

Keep in mind, users generally only watch the first third of your video, so ensure that your video is compelling and convincing right away.

Facebook Lead Generation Ad Examples

If you’re wondering how to implement these tips and need a little inspiration, look no further. 

The following lead ads are real, tried, and true examples of how you can attract new leads on Facebook.

By asking when the leads plan to purchase, Land Rover can properly follow up and nurture this lead within the given time frame.

Notice their lead magnet? Offering a free PDF download encourages people to fill out the form to receive their free item of value.

We love this Airstream lead gen ad.

The videos are enticing, it is clear and to the point, and offers a brochure in exchange for information.

You’d find us clicking “Download” if we were to see this ad!

This ad from Nissan makes you feel like a VIP. 

Simply fill out the form to be placed at the top of the list to receive information about this not-yet-released model.

Time to Fill Your Pipeline

Are you ready to sweep people off their feet using Facebook lead ads?

When you implement all of the tips and tricks that we mentioned, you’ll be set up for lead gen success.

But, don’t go to market without dazzling creatives to capture users’ attention and get people excited about filling out your form.

We can help! 

Whether you are needing a one-time project fulfilled or want to take advantage of unlimited graphics at your fingertips, No Limit Creative is ready to help you take your Facebook lead ads to the next level.